Three Ways To Join The Land Rover Family - Range Rover, Discovery And Defender

Estimated reading time:  


Land Rover is a legendary British automotive brand and Range Rover is one of its three vehicle families. The Land Rover brand has grown since the original Series I was introduced in 1948. Land Rover now has three vehicle families: Range Rover, Defender and Discovery.

The Land Rover brand’s Range Rover family began with the first Range Rover in 1970. The original luxury SUV, it combines the attributes of the best saloon cars with the capability of a Land Rover.

Over 50 years the Range Rover has been constantly refined. It’s also grown to become a family including the Range Rover Sport, Range Rover Velar and Range Rover Evoque.

The versatile Land Rover Discovery was launched in 1989 and the Discovery family grew with the addition of the compact Discovery Sport in 2014.

The Land Rover Defender family can trace its ancestry all the way back to that 1948 original Series I Land Rover.

The Defender name was first used in 1990 and has been a byword for durability ever since.

New Defender reinvents Land Rover’s icon for the 21st century. It now has intelligent technology that makes it even more capable than ever – and connected for our digital world.

Every Land Rover in the three families combines design, technology and capability with one aim in mind – to help you and your family make more of your world.

All Land Rovers have to be capable and composed.

Each family is distinctive. Here’s how.

The Range Rover family embodies refinement. All Range Rovers are elegant, luxurious and sophisticated, with class-leading all-road performance.

The Discovery family comprises the most versatile Land Rovers, all with seven seats.

The Defender family is all about durability. Land Rover’s reborn icon is built with our toughest materials yet and has been tested to its very limits.

Now let’s take a look at the three Land Rover families in more detail.


The Range Rover family has four members: Range Rover, Ranger Rover Sport,
Range Rover Velar and Range Rover Evoque - each one offering peerless

Range Rover

The Range Rover is a truly first-class travel experience. It’s the pinnacle of refinement.

Range Rover’s sublime and beautifully appointed interior features executive four-seat comfort with five-seat versatility.

With its floating roofline, continuous waistline and lower accent graphics, the Range Rover isn’t a reimagining of the 1970 original – we’ve simply made it better.

The Range Rover has the technologies to deliver a refined, connected drive. And the latest 3.0-litre in-line six-cylinder Ingenium petrol engine improves performance and economy.


Range Rover Sport

With sportier design cues and a powerful, muscular stance, the Range Rover Sport is designed for impact.

Cleaner and more dynamic, there’s a contemporary feel everywhere you look.

Choose from a range of potent powertrains including a 5.0-litre supercharged V8 petrol engine and a plug-in hybrid.

The Touch Pro Duo in-car infotainment system beautifully integrates two 10-inch high-definition touchscreens.



Range Rover Velar

The Range Rover Velar design philosophy is revolutionary. Striking proportions, flush door handles and an integrated rear spoiler all improve aerodynamics.

Features including a foil-stamped grille give the vehicle’s front profile an undeniable presence.

Whether you're motoring down the autobahn or negotiating a tricky country lane, Range Rover Velar has capability at its core. 


Range Rover Evoque

The distinctive coupé-like Range Rover Evoque is a compelling successor to the vehicle that captured hearts all over the world.

Range Rover Evoque’s intuitive and innovative optional technologies include Touch Pro Duo, a 12.3-inch Interactive Driver Display, Head-up Display and Meridian audio.

On and off-road handling, combined with its all-weather capability, guarantees that this compact SUV delivers a confident and assured drive, no matter the conditions.

Evoque is now available as a plug-in hybrid (PHEV) with an electric-only range of 66km.



Discovery stands for versatility every day. Both members of the Discovery family are perfect for modern families.


It’s a place where your family can safely meet – with more seats than round your kitchen table and the flexibility to live your life as you wish.

The versatile cabin has an easily configurable seven-seat layout and plentiful stowage.

From the choice of Meridian sound systems to innovations such as Touch Pro infotainment and a suite of ingenious driving, parking and towing aids, there’s a world of technology at your fingertips.

Discovery not only looks truly at home in the city, but also drives impeccably off-road. It can tow up to 3,500kg and has a suite of features to help make towing effortless and assured.


Discovery Sport

The Discovery Sport has distinctive contours, perfectly balanced proportions and characteristic design cues.

With the flexibility of 5+2 seating, clever storage solutions and enough space for everyone, Discovery Sport is versatile by design.

Being a Discovery means capability and composure in equal measure. The joy of Discovery Sport is in finding that no adventure is out of reach.

Discovery Sport is now available as a plug-in hybrid (PHEV) with an electric-only range of 66km.




Defender stands for purposeful durability above everything else. These are vehicles for 21st century adventurers.


Defender features our toughest materials yet and has been tested to its very limits. It is designed for optimum durability.

Capable by nature, Defender can handle extreme terrain and confidently takes you from the urban jungle to shifting sands or icy wildernesses.

It is also equipped for 21st century adventures with intuitive technologies for convenience, connectivity and visibility.

Defender 110 offers five, six or 5+2 seating configurations. Defender 90 will be able to accommodate six occupants in a vehicle the length of a compact family hatchback.